CafeTurk.net is a Splogger

I went to bed last night about 10:00 p.m.; when I woke up about 20 minutes ago and blinked my way out here to the office, I asked the air in here, “Why do I have 98 overnight emails?” The answer was simple: a splogger had hijacked my content into a WordPress install at cafeturk.net and had pingback every link … which meant that I got lots of email.

My apologies to you if you got splogged in this attack as well. There’s not too much that you can do pro-actively about such things, at least that I’m willing to do. [Offering summary-only feeds, copyrighting my work, etc.]

Posted May 8th, 2007 in WordPress.

:

  1. Chris Hubbs:

    Ah, I was a bit curious this morning when I saw it. Oh well, such is life.

  2. Todder:

    Sheeeet happens mon! I only got one pingback, so it’s cool!

  3. Dougal Campbell:

    Yeah, I got hit by that one, too.

    I also got hit by some from the domain ‘to-catch-a-predator.org‘ (nofollow’d). Actually, there are multiple blogs under that domain name, and other domains on the same server which are also splogs. What’s different about that one is that it’s much more stealthy in how it steals content.

    The cafeturk site is grabbing whole posts without modification.

    The to-catch-a-predator.org blog(s) take content from multiple sources and use a Markov chain algorithm to mush their texts together into an almost-but-not-quite coherent amalagam. For more info, check out dadadodo.

    I filed a complaint about that site with Google Adsense (and also complained to the webhost), but I got back a request from Google asking me if I wanted to file a DMCA notice against them. I just don’t have the time to muck with that right now. I was also going to file a complaint with Yahoo, since there were also Yahoo ads there, but Yahoo doesn’t seem to have any easy way to do that like Google does. :-(

Leave a response:

Note: This post is over a year and a half old. You may want to check later in this blog to see if there is new information relevant to your comment.

By submitting a comment here you grant this site a perpetual license to reproduce your words and name/web site in attribution.